My WS’ alive again!

Maybe it is just too much dust that accumulated on the DIMM slot, that the MOBO failed to recognise the DDR…
Anyway, after “washing up” the main board, my WS’ up and running again.

To those who replied to my previous post:
You only plug out the HD and to rescue data when you confirm that comp’s beyond repair.
MzBot source code ain’t that important that I would have to immediately plug out the HD and “rescue” the data. I can do it later when I really confirm that the box’ really beyond any repair. ( happens rarely, you don’t find your CPU+Mobo+RAM+Graphic card dead all at the same time… )
Even if I do rescue the data, I won’t be able to work on it anyway, both the router and my laptop’s Linux box.
Note that you don’t really have to put it as slave, when you have 2 IDE channel, all depends on the situation….
The bad thing’s that all the 4 slot in IDE is occupied in my other comp ( router + my dad’s workstation. ), there’s 4 hd and 1 cd rom. So if I really want to backup, I have to unplug something…

2 Responses to My WS’ alive again!

  1. nog_lorp says:

    I don’t know – if my computer was on the fritz I would be afraid of it damaging the HD. I’m not a particularly hardware oriented guy though, I’m not sure what the risk could be to the hard drive under those circumstances. Anywho, I’ve lost a couple HDs in the past and it is a pain in the ass – mostly losing graphics and code that I wouldn’t think I would particularly miss (along with some sentimental stuff).

  2. john0312 says:

    dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/hdc

Leave a comment